The Humor Mill

Steve Harvey Wins Big At The Day Time Emmys!

Posted May 4, 2017

The 44th annual Daytime Emmy Awards were handed out Sunday night.

General Hospital, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, The Talk, Entertainment Tonight, Good Morning America, Jeopardy! and Steve Harvey were among the night’s big winners. Harvey, in fact, won two awards: best game show host for Family Feud and best informative talk show host for his eponymous talker.

Heading into the ceremony, CBS’ The Young and the Restless led all nominees with a total of 25, followed by the network’s The Bold and the Beautiful. Both series were nominated for best daytime drama alongside NBC’s Days of Our Lives and last year’s winner, ABC’s General Hospital. CBS also led all networks and streaming services with a total of 70 noms.

Also at the 44th Daytime Emmy Awards, former Entertainment Tonight host Mary Hart was honored with the lifetime achievement award. Longtime Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune producer Harry Friedman received the same honor Friday at the 44th Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony.

This year’s nominees included The Hollywood Reporter, which landed its first-ever nom, for its Close Up With ‘The Hollywood Reporter’ series with Sundance TV, in the outstanding special-class series category. The executive producers are Matthew Belloni, Stephen Galloway, Paul Haddad, Jennifer Laski, Janice Min and Lacey Rose, with Stephanie Fischette serving as producer. THR previously won an Emmy for its roundtable discussion ‘The Hollywood Reporter’ in Focus: ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’, which aired on PBS SoCal.

A list of Daytime Emmy winners in select categories follows. More on the Creative Arts Awards ceremony can be found here.

The Hollywood Reporter

  • Outstanding Drama Series

    General Hospital (WINNER)
    The Bold and the Beautiful
    Days of Our Lives
    The Young and the Restless

    Outstanding Game Show

    Celebrity Name Game
    Family Feud
    Let’s Make a Deal
    The Price Is Right

    Outstanding Morning Program

    Good Morning America (WINNER)
    CBS Sunday Morning
    CBS This Morning
    Today Show

    Outstanding Talk Show / Informative

    The Dr. Oz Show (WINNER)
    The Chew
    Steve Harvey
    Larry King Now
    The Kitchen

    Outstanding Talk Show / Entertainment

    The Ellen DeGeneres Show (WINNER)
    The Talk
    The View
    Live with Kelly

  • Outstanding Entertainment News Program

    Entertainment Tonight (WINNER)
    Access Hollywood
    E! News
    Inside Edition

  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

    Gina Tognoni, The Young and the Restless (WINNER)
    Nancy Lee Grahn, General Hospital
    Heather Tom, The Bold and the Beautiful
    Jess Walton, The Young and the Restless
    Laura Wright, General Hospital

  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

    Scott Clifton, The Bold and the Beautiful (WINNER)
    Peter Bergman, The Young and the Restless
    Billy Flynn, Days of Our Lives
    Vincent Irizarry, Days of Our Lives
    Kristoff St. John, The Young and the Restless

  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

    Kate Mansi, Days of Our Lives (WINNER)
    Stacy Haiduk, The Young and the Restless
    Anna Maria Horsford, The Bold and the Beautiful
    Finola Hughes, General Hospital
    Kelly Sullivan, The Young and the Restless

  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

    Steve Burton, The Young and the Restless (WINNER)
    John Aniston, Days of Our Lives
    Chad Duell, General Hospital
    Jeffrey Vincent Parise,General Hospital
    James Reynolds, Days of Our Lives

  • Outstanding Game Show Host

    Steve Harvey, Family Feud (WINNER)
    Wayne Brady, Let’s Make a Deal
    Craig Ferguson, Celebrity Name Game
    Pat Sajak, Wheel of Fortune
    Alex Trebek, Jeopardy!

  • Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host

    Steve Harvey, Steve Harvey (WINNER)
    Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Clinton Kelly, Daphne Oz, Michael Symon, The Chew
    Dr. Mehmet Oz, The Dr. Oz Show
    Larry King, Larry King Now
    Sunny Anderson, Katie Lee, Jeff Mauro, Marcela Valladolid, Geoffrey Zakarian, The Kitchen
    Chris Hedges, On Contact

  • Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host

    Julie Chen, Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osbourne, Aisha Tyler, Sheryl Underwood, The Talk (WINNER)
    Wendy Williams, The Wendy Williams Show
    Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar, Candace Cameron Bure, Raven Symone, Paula Faris, Sara Haines, Jedediah Bila, Sunny Hostin, The View
    Harry Connick Jr., Harry
    Tamar Braxton, Adrienne Houghton, Loni Love, Jeannie Mai, Tamera Mowry-Housley, The Real
    Kelly Ripa, Live With Kelly

  • Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team

    General Hospital (WINNER)
    The Bold and the Beautiful
    Days of Our Lives
    The Young and the Restless

  • Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team

    The Young and the Restless (WINNER)
    The Bold and the Beautiful
    Days of Our Lives
    General Hospital

  • Outstanding Culinary Program

    Eat the World with Emeril Lagasse (WINNER)
    America’s Test Kitchen
    Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics
    Guy’s Big Bite
    The Mind of a Chef
    Trisha’s Southern Kitchen

  • Outstanding Special Class Animated Program

    Taking Flight (WINNER)
    The Boy Who Learned To Fly
    A Love Story

  • Outstanding Digital Daytime Drama Series

    The Bay The Series (WINNER)
    Red Bird
    Tainted Dreams
    Tough Love Web Series
    Venice The Series

  • Outstanding Children’s or Family Viewing Series

    Give (WINNER)

    Odd Squad
    This Just In
    Xploration DIY Sci

  • Outstanding Children’s Animated Program

    Lost in Oz: Extended Adventure (WINNER)
    Disney Milo Murphy’s Law
    Dragons: Race to the Edge+
    LEGO Star Wars: The Freemaker Adventures
    The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show

  • Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Series

    Sesame Street (WINNER)

    Dino Dan: Trek’s Adventures
    Mutt & Stuff
    Sunny Side Up

  • Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Animated Program

    The Snowy Day (WINNER)
    Ask the StoryBots
    Tumble Leaf

  • Outstanding Performer in a Children’s, Pre-School Children’s or Family Viewing Program

    Isaac Kargten, Odd Squad (WINNER)
    Adrianna Di Liello, Annedroids
    Ryan Dillon, Sesame Street
    Addison Holley, Annedroids
    Jack McBrayer, Odd Squad

  • Outstanding Performer in an Animated Program

    Kelsey Grammer, Trollhunters (WINNER)
    Danny Jacobs, All Hail King Julien
    Kate McKinnon, Nature Cat
    Andy Richter, All Hail King Julien
    Rick Zieff, The Tom & Jerry Show

  • Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program

    Judge Judy
    Lauren Lake’s Paternity Court
    The People’s Court
    Hot Bench
    Judge Mathis

  • Outstanding Lifestyle Program

    Flea Market Flip (WINNER)
    George to the Rescue
    Home Made Simple
    Lake Life
    Open House

  • Outstanding Special Class Series

    SuperSoul Sunday (WINNER)
    Close Up With The Hollywood Reporter
    Crime Watch Daily With Chris Hansen
    Landscapes Through Time with David Dunlop
    Working in the Theatre

  • Outstanding Special Class Special

    Out of Iraq (WINNER)
    MTV Docs: Transformation
    Bookaboo New Years Eve Special
    The Wildlife Docs: Africa
    The Disney Parks’ Magical Christmas Celebration

  • Outstanding Travel and Adventure Program

    Wonder Women (WINNER)
    Jonathan Bird’s Blue World
    Joseph Rosendo’s Travelscope
    Planet Primetime

Humor Mill Radio LIVE!


The Humor Mill Volume 7 Issue 1 March 2023

Join Our Mailing List HERE

%d bloggers like this: