The Humor Mill

JB Smoove To Host The 25th Annual Art Directors Guild Awards

Comedy News

Actor and comedian JB Smoove, best known for his iconic role as Leon in HBO’s “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” will host the 25th Annual Art Directors Guild Awards (ADG, IATSE Local 800) on Saturday, April 10, 2021. Recognizing 25 years of outstanding production design in film, television, animation and commercials, this year’s awards ceremony will be presented on a virtual platform, streaming to a worldwide and more inclusive audience in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The event is free to everyone, but registration is required at

“We are thrilled to welcome JB Smoove with his amazing comic sensibility to host the 25th Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards. His wide range of talent and remarkable career in film, television and live performance will no doubt add the perfect spark to energize what is burgeoning into an amazing awards anniversary night,” said Nelson Coates, President of the Art Directors Guild.

As previously announced, Ryan Murphy, one of television’s most successful award-winning writers-directors-producers whose shows have consistently reflected the highest quality of production design, will receive the esteemed Cinematic Imagery Award, presented by actor Matt Bomer, star of Murphy’s “American Horror Story,” “Glee,” “American Crime Story,” “The Normal Heart” and, most recently, “The Boys in the Band.”

Additional presenters include entrepreneur, supermodel and Emmy®-winning television producer and personality Tyra Banks; executive producer and actor Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman); producer, writer and director Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman};Aasif Mandvi (CBS’s hit show “Evil)”; and Brian Tee (“Chicago Med”), among others.

Production Designer Stuart Wurtzel (AD), Set Designer Martha Johnston (SDMM), Concept Artist John Eaves (IMA), and Scenic Artist Patrick DeGreve (STG) will all be presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards for their outstanding legacies and contributions to their crafts. A full list of nominees of the 25th Annual ADG Awards, originally announced on February 25, 2021, is available on   #iwillbethere   #adgawards

About author / Humor Mill



%d bloggers like this: